2017 - 2018 Officers

HBAA Bylaws

Download the HBAA Bylaws here

About HBAA

Who We Are

The Hispanic Bar Association of Austin ("HBAA") is a nonprofit professional organization for attorneys. Its mission is to enhance the Latinx community in Central Texas by fostering the engagement of the Hispanic-American legal professional community in civic, professional, social, educational, charitable, governmental, and non-partisan political issues.

HBAA prides itself on a long-standing commitment of providing lawyers with continuing legal education (CLE) and opportunities for networking, socializing, professional development, and public service targeted towards enhancing and supporting the Austin area Latinx community. For more information regarding the HBAA's community involvement and efforts, please visit the web pages of each of HBAA's various volunteer committees.

The HBAA is an affiliate of the Mexican-American Bar Association of Texas and the Hispanic National Bar Association.

Meetings & Events

HBAA hosts various social and networking events, general body meetings, and CLE courses for the benefit of its membership on a monthly basis. To receive information via e-mail regarding HBAA events and meetings, please join the HBAA membership.

The HBAA welcomes all members of the legal profession to join its membership, which includes attorneys practicing in Austin and the surrounding areas, judges, legislators, lobbyists, government officials, legal professors and scholars, law students and non-lawyers.

History and Past HBAA Presidents

HBAA has a long history of civic and volunteer engagement in Central Texas.  HBAA officially was formed as an organization in 1995.  Prior to that, the organization was known as Capital Area Mexican-American Lawyers (CAMAL).

HBAA is proud to recognize and honor each of its former presidents:

1988-1989   Richard Peña

1989-1990   Thomas Esparza

1990-1991   David Mendez

1991-1992   Robert Ramirez

1992-1993   Jesus Sifuentes

1993-1994   Lulu Flores

1994-1995   Hector Rodriguez

1995-1996   Ray Bonilla

1996-1997   Pat Escobedo

1997-1998   Michael D. Marin

1998-1999   Rudy Colmenero

1999-2000   Elizabeth Garcia

2000-2001   Raul Gonzalez

2001-2002   Russell Ramirez

2002-2003   Veronica Rivera

2003-2004   Amy Castañeda

2004-2005   Vanessa Gonzalez

2005-2006   Lino Mendiola

2006-2007   Gavin Villareal

2007-2008   Angelica Salinas Evans

2008-2009   Jana Ortega

2009-2010   Patrick Caballero

2010-2011   Alex Valdes

2011-2012   Jesse Butler

2012-2013   Manuel Escobar

2013-2014   Renee Castillo-De La Cruz

2014-2015   Keyla Martinez Robertson

2015-2016   Betsy Peticolas

2016-2017   Anthony Arguijo

2017-2018   Kevin Terrazas

2018-2019   Salvador Davila

2019-2020   Eliana Marudi

2020-2021   Belinda Arambula

2021-2022   Roswill Mejia

If you notice any errors or omissions in our list, or have any other historical information about HBAA you would like us to include on this page, please email us